Real Food Bryn

Epipen-Wielding Real Food Eating

Recipe: Beef Liver Pâté

Leave a comment

If you have seen some of my recent What I Ate Wednesday posts, you may  notice an over abundance of beef liver pâté. I made this on a whim (and because I had 3 lbs of beef liver in the freezer) and I am completely in love. I followed this recipe as a general outline, but modified to be the one below. My favorite way to eat it so far is just with plantain crackers. However, I just got a new dehydrator (so excited!) so there may be some new cracker additions soon 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of grass-fed beef liver, cut into thin slices or chunks. Mine came from US Wellness Meats
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2-3 Tbsp minced garlic (I like garlic A LOT)
  • 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (balsamic or red wine vinegar would also taste great with this)
  • 1-1.5 Tbsp rosemary
  • 1 Tbsp thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • ~1 cup total of olive oil and coconut oil or bacon fat

Directions

  1. Fry the liver and onions in ~2 Tbsp of the coconut oil or bacon fat (or lard or duck fat…but not the olive oil).
  2. When the onions are caramelized and the liver is cooked through, add the garlic, cider vinegar, rosemary, and thyme.
  3. Cook for a few more minutes until the liquid from the vinegar is reduced.
  4. Remove from heat and let it cool for 5 minutes, then transfer to a food processor with 1/4-1/2 cup of olive oil or coconut oil.
  5. Process until smooth, adding the remaining olive or coconut oil as you go to give a moist, creamy final product.
  6. Portion into containers for freezing. I split mine in half (I started with a 1-lb liver), so one liver makes two-weeks worth of breakfast for me.

2013-05-23-19-37-252013-05-23-19-56-30

2013-05-23-19-57-352013-05-23-20-00-402013-05-23-20-05-47

When I first started moving toward real food, I never thought I would end up making my own pâté. So far, it is my favorite way to eat liver.

What is your favorite way to eat liver?

Author: Coach Bryn

Bryn is a certified holistic health coach and productivity expert. She will help you kick ass, get healthy, and rock your purpose like a boss, but remember, kids, she's not a doctor (well, not a real one, anyway).

Leave a Reply

